The Bellamy Group Represents Strong At Recent Gospel Blue Mic Awards For Independent Artists


The 2013 Gospel Blue Mic Awards were given out Friday, July 12 at Mount Lebanon Cathedral during the 4th Annual Independent Gospel Alliance Conference in Chesapeake, VA. The Gospel Blue Mic Achievement Awards acknowledge, promote, and honor the achievements of independent artists in the Gospel music sector for ministry, industry and creativity. The awards are presented by, Nebo Publishing and the Independent Gospel Artists Alliance. “Overall, this was the best showcase of artist we have had in the years of the awards show,” says Charles Clark, Publisher and Editor of Brotha Online Magazine. “The lineup of talent of the nominees and performers showed the amazing diversity of indie artists.”

Out of 17 categories presented at the awards ceremony, artist represented by The Bellamy Group took home 7 awards. “I am so proud of the individuals and groups in The Bellamy Group family of artists! Their music ministries’ are impacting the world and we are honored to be able to assist them with marketing and publicity, and to partner with each of them in Kingdom building,” says Benita Bellamy, CEO of The Bellamy Group.

Songstress Monica Lisa Stevenson captured two awards: Female Artist of the Year and Single of the Year “Right There”. Soul singer Sean C. Johnson took home Urban Artist of the Year, while The Godfather of Gospel Jazz Ben Tankard received the Instrumental Artist of the Year Award. The Choir of the Year Award went to Earl Bynum and The Mount Unity Choir who also performed their chart topping gospel radio hit “Bless The Name of the Lord”.


Javon Inman was chosen to receive the Christian Jukebox Radio Artist of the Year Award. “We presented the CJB Radio Artist of the Year award to Javon Inman because he has blessed our hearts with his music and his spirit. He has proven to be a true worshipper of the Lord on and off the stage. This worshipful spirit is reflected in his music,” expresses Simone Henry, President of CJB Radio. “He has made it to the top of our charts several times over the past year because the quality of his music is consistent. We are privileged to know Javon.”

Other performers in The Bellamy Group family of artists included Cheneta Jones who received a standing ovation for her rousing performance of her popular single “Get There”. Gospel Jazz vocalist Robert E. Person and Javon Iman performed a tribute to Marketing entrepreneur Benita Bellamy who was honored with the Gospel Blue Mic Special Achievement Award. “Benita was chosen because of her service, expertise and passion for indie artists,” states Charles Clark, Editor and Publisher of Brotha Online Magazine. “To recognize her this year was to encapsulate her body of work and contributions to indie artists and artists everywhere.”

For more information on any of these artists, visit




 *Photos Courtesy of: Lekisha Earles

1. Monica Lisa Stevenson With Awards

2. Earl Bynum and the Mount Unity Choir Performing

3. Robert E. Person and Javon Inman Performing

4. Benita Bellamy Receiving Award From Charles Clark